HOF 2015: Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz, Craig Biggio

2015 HOFRandy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio were voted into the baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America and will be officially inducted July 26 in Cooperstown, New York.

Smoltz, Johnson and Martinez are all first ballot Hall of Famer’s. The BBWAA had not voted in four players in a single year since selecting Joe DiMaggio, Gabby Hartnett, Ted Lyons and Dazzy Vance 60 years ago.

Johnson received 97.3 percent of the vote, with Martinez not far behind at 91.1. The record-high percentage is 98.84, which Tom Seaver received in 1992. Smoltz got 82.9 percent while Biggio grabbed 82.7 percent in his third attempt.

Johnson, a five-time Cy Young Award winner with 303 victories and 4,875 strikeouts, was selected on 534 of 549 ballots by veteran members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Martinez, a three-time Cy Young winner, appeared on 500 ballots (91.1 percent). Martinez was 219-100, struck out 3,154, led the major leagues in ERA five times, and in 2004 helped the Boston Red Sox to their first World Series title in 86 years.

Smoltz, the 1996 NL Cy Young winner, was 213-155 with 154 saves, the only pitcher with 200 wins and 150 saves.

Biggio had 3,060 hits in 20 big league seasons, all with the Houston Astros.

Mike Piazza, 69.9
Jeff Bagwell, 55.7
Tim Raines, 55
Curt Schilling, 39.2
Roger Clemens, 37.5
Barry Bonds, 36.8
Lee Smith, 30.2
Edgar Martinez, 27
Alan Trammell, 25.1
Mike Mussina, 24.6
Jeff Kent, 14
Fred McGriff, 12.9
Larry Walker, 11.8
Gary Sheffield, 11.7
Mark McGwire, 10
Don Mattingly, 9.1
Sammy Sosa, 6.6
Nomar Garciaparra, 5.5