2015 MLB All-Star Game Starters, Pitchers, Reserves Announced

Price-TigersYouth will be served at the 86th Major League Baseball All-Star Game at Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati next Tuesday. A day after the starters were named, the reserves and pitchers were announced, as well as the 10 contenders for the MLB All-Star Game Final Vote.

When introductions are made before Tuesday’s Midsummer Classic, fans will see 35 players who are 27 or younger. The game will also feature 28 first-time All-Stars. Each league’s roster will include 34 players, 33 of which were announced and the other to be decided by the final vote.

The player ballot selected Angels first baseman Albert Pujols to replace injured starter Miguel Cabrera (Tigers) in the American League starting lineup. Pirates center fielder Andrew McCutchen was chosen by the player ballot to replace Marlins injured outfielder Giancarlo Stanton in the National League starting lineup.

Other All-Stars voted in on the players ballot include starting pitchers Dallas Keuchel (Astros), Sonny Gray (A’s), Chris Sale (White Sox), Chris Archer (Rays) and David Price (Tigers); and relievers Dellin Betances (Yankees), Glen Perkings (Twins) and Wade Davis (Royals).American League manager Ned Yost (Royals) made the remaining selections and chose his closer, Kelvin Herrera; starting pitcher Felix Hernandez (Mariners); relievers Zach Britton and Darren O’Day (Orioles), and Brad Boxberger (Rays); infielder Brock Holt (Red Sox), catcher Russell Martin (Blue Jays) and first baseman Mark Teixeira (Yankees), who replaced Cabrera on the AL roster.

The NL players ballot chose first baseman Anthony Rizzo (Cubs), second baseman DJ LeMahieu (Rockies), shortstop Brandon Crawford (Giants), third baseman Nolan Arenado (Rockies), outfielders A.J. Pollock (Diamondbacks) and Joc Pederson (Dodgers), and catcher Yadier Molina (Cardinals).

Starting pitchers selected by the NL players ballot are Max Scherzer (Nationals), Zack Greinke (Dodgers), Jacob deGrom (Mets), Shelby Miller (Braves) and Grerit Cole (Pirates). Relievers include Cardinals closer Trevor Rosenthal, Reds closer Aroldis Chapman and Pirates closer Mark Melancon.
NL manager Bruce Bochy (Giants) composed the rest of the roster and tabbed starters Madison Bumgarner (Giants), Michael Wacha (Cardinals) and A.J. Burnett (Pirates) along with relievers Jonatan Papelbon (Phillies) and Francisco Rodriguez (Brewers). Position players selections were Dodgers first baseman Adrian Gonzalez and catcher Yasmani Grandal, Giants second baseman Joe Panik and Padres outfielder Justin Upton. Cubs rookie third baseman Kris Bryant was chosen to replace Stanton on the roster.
The Final Vote, which will determine the final roster spot for each team, includes Red Sox shortstop Xander Bogaerts, Twins second baseman Brian Dozier, Tigers outfielder Yoenis Cespedes, Royals third baseman Mike Moustakas in the AL and Reds starting pitcher Johnny Cueto, Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw, Mets reliever Jeurys Familia, Cardinals reliever Carlos Martinez and Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzski.