Finalists for Golden 2013 Spikes Award: Tyler Beede, Kris Bryant, Colin Moran

 college baseballUSA Baseball today named the three finalists for the 2013 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award. Tyler Beede, a sophomore right-handed pitcher from Vanderbilt; Kris Bryant, a junior infielder from San Diego; and Colin Moran, a junior infielder out of North Carolina are the 2013 nominees given annually to the best amateur baseball player in the United States.

All three players participated in the regionals with Beede and Moran  advancing to this weekend’s super regionals. Bryant and his  University of San Diego teammates were eliminated.  Bryant and Moran are expected to be early selections in the 2013 MLB draft.

Beede is 14-0 with a 2.20 ERA 101 strikeouts in 98 1-3 innings for Vanderbilt, which plays Louisville in the NCAA Super Regionals starting Saturday

Moran is batting .351 with 13 homers and an NCAA-high 85 RBIs for North Carolina, which plays South Carolina starting Friday. The 2013 ACC Player of the Year finished fourth in the nation with 69 runs scored.

Bryant hit .329 with 31 homers and 62 RBIs for San Diego, and is thought to be one of the best bats in this years draft. Bryant was tabbed the Louisville Slugger National Player of the Year and the co-West Coast Conference Player of the Year after hitting .329 with 62 runs batted in.

Past Golden Spike Award winners include Stephen Strasburg, Bryce Harper, Trevor Bauer, Buster Posey, David Price, Mike Zunio  and Alex Gordon.