Bobby Cox, Joe Torre, Tony LaRussa Elected to Hall of Fame

LAKE BUENA VISTA, FL – Bobby Cox, Joe Torre and Tony La Russa were all unanimously elected to Baseball Hall of Fame this morning by Expansion Era Committee.

Others who were considered but cam up short, Dave ConcepcionSteve GarveyTommy JohnBilly Martin, Marvin Miller, Dave ParkerDan QuisenberryTed Simmons and George Steinbrenner.

Hall of FameCox ranks fourth all-time in wins among managers, compiling a 2,504-2,001 (.556) record in 29 seasons as a Major League manager.

The Braves won the 1995 World Series while capturing five National League pennants during his 25 years with the Braves. Cox lead the Braves to 14 division titles between 1991 and 2005.

Hall of FameLa Russa ranks third all-time in wins among managers, compiling a 2,728-2,365 (.536) record in 33 seasons, winning the World Series with the A’s in 1989 and the Cardinals in 2006 and ’11.

He also guided Oakland to three American League pennants (1988-90) in 10 seasons and the Cardinals to three NL pennants (2004, ’06 and ’11) in 16 years.

Hall of FameTorre won four World Series titles and six pennants in 29 seasons as a manager, following an 18-year playing career in which he had a .297 batting average.

As a manager, he posted a 2,326-1,997 record, good for a .538 winning percentage. Torre led the Yankees to Series titles in 1996, ’98, ’99 and 2000 (in addition to 100-win seasons in 1998 and from 2002-04), and six AL pennants.