Baseball Hall Of Fame Vote: Writers Say No to Everyone for 2013


Craig Biggio’s 3060 career hits were not enough for induction into the Hall of Fame

In a not totally unexpected vote the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) failed to elect a single player from a ballot of 37 candidates for entry into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Not since 1996 has the BBWAA failed to elect a single player.

Craig Biggio received 68.2% of the vote, 39 votes short of election.

Biggio collected 3060 it’s over a distinguished 20 year career.

There our 26 players who reached the 3000 hit plateau. Rafael Palmeiro and Pete Rose are the only others who are not in the Hall of Fame.

Palmeiro tested positive for performance enhancing drugs an Rose is not eligible and banned from baseball because of gambling.

He was followed by Jack Morris (67.7 percent), Jeff Bagwell (59.6) and Mike Piazza (57.8).

The ballot included a number of first-time eligible players whose career stats would have made them all but a certainty to be elected into the Hall of Fame, were it not for the cloud of performance enhancing drugs that was cast on many of their careers.

Barry Bonds the all-time home run leader with 762 received just 36.2% of the vote.

Roger Clemens has 354 wins in the major leagues and received 37.6% of the vote.

Mike Piazza is the greatest offensive catcher in baseball history, and hit 427 home runs, received 57.8% of the vote.

The results of this year’s Hall of Fame voting will likely serve to further polarize voters, fans, and players about PED’s and their effect on baseball.

Major League Baseball issued a statement shortly after the results were announced.

“Major League Baseball recognizes that election to the Hall of Fame is our game’s most extraordinary individual honor,” MLB said in a statement issued shortly after the announcement. “Achieving enshrinement in Cooperstown is difficult, as it should be, and there have been seven other years when no one was elected by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Mike Mussina and Jeff Kent will be on the ballot for the first time in 2014.