Arizona Wildcats Win 2012 College World Series

James Farris Arizona OMAHA, Neb. – The Arizona Wildcats starting pitcher James Farris pitched into the eighth inning, pitched well, and the Arizona Wildcats are the 2012 college World Series Champions.  Farris pitched 7 2/3 innings giving up one earned run on just two hits. He struck out four and walked two.

South Carolina pitcher Michael Roth was equally impressive, giving up the one run in 6 2/3 innings of work.

Arizona scored early when Joseph Maggi hit a fastball  the other way just inside the third-base bag for a double. Riley Moore then sacrificed Maggi to third with a bunt. Trent Gilbert then hit a ground ball to second base that scored Maggi.

Ferris made the lead stand up with solid pitching and a nasty curve ball until the bottom of the seventh when the Gamecocks Christian Walker scored on a ground ball to second base to tie the game.

The game remained tied until the top of ninth. Robert Refsnyder lead led off the inning with a base hit. Then Seth Mejias-Brean  sacrificed him to second.  the next batter Bobby Brown was walked intentionally and  Brandon Dixon delivered a run-scoring double and the Wildcats went up 2-1.

Trent Gilbert then came up with two runners in scoring position and delivered a single to right to make it  4-1.

The Gamecocks tried to rally in the bottom of the ninth loading the bases with a base hit and two walks, but Mathew Troupe settle down and got the final three outs and the Wildcats were champions. South Carolina was looking to become a three-peat champion of the College World Series, after having won the title in 2010 and 2011.